Skip to main content


2021 Academic Honors

2021 Academic Honors Night

Grand Island Senior High in partnership with the Grand Island Public Schools Foundation and Home Federal Bank honored the top-ranked graduating seniors from Grand Island Senior High during an academic recognition ceremony on Wednesday, April 14 at 7:00 p.m. in the Grand Island Senior High Auditorium. 

All students at Grand Island Senior High who graduate Summa Cum Laude or Magna Cum Laude, and have submitted a GIPS Foundation scholarship application, will be awarded at least one scholarship through the Grand Island Public Schools Foundation’s Academic Aristocrat Scholarship Program. Honor students will receive a total of $53,725 at this presentation.

The Academic Aristocrat Scholarship program was initiated by former Superintendent Marv Maurer in memory of his wife Dorothy. The program offers scholarships for Grand Island Senior High’s Honors Students. Sixty-Five (65) scholarships will be awarded in 2021 as part of this program. The scholarships range from $500-$2,000.

Over the years, many individuals have donated to the Academic Aristocrat fund to grant students their dreams of a higher education. Some have donated annually or through payroll deductions, while others have established endowed scholarships in their family's names or in honor or memory of someone special.

The Grand Island Public Schools Foundation has served as a tax-exempt vehicle for various individuals and businesses to award scholarships on an annual basis.

The GISH seniors honored at the event:

Samuel Aguilar

Wilber Aguilar

Maria Albers

Kara Almquist

Diana Barragan

Kamdyn Barrientos

Lazaro Bautista-Mendoza

Cristian Betancourt

Emaline Bockoven

Lacey Broadwell

Myah Brown

Angel Cavazos

Sydney Cobler

Govani Del Rio

Ada Dominguez

Brooke Ehlers

Carly Gartner

Marienedina Gomez

Derek Gomez

Gabriela Gomez Martinez

Darian Hadenfeldt

Raymond Hanson

Riley Harder

Cullin Havel

Guadalupe Hernandez Rodriguez

Emily Hernandez Tinajero

Kayla Inthavongsa

Landon Jensen

Emmy Johnson

William Johnson

Ayden Kenkel

Aidan Keyes

Kael Kingery

Jackson Kissler

Adrian Lazalde

Fatima Madera Hernandez

Crista Manning

Karla Marquez Cell

Jennifer Martinez

Ella McDonald

Perla Mendoza Tellez

Ethan Messmer

Oscar Murcia Guardado

German Murcia-Martinez

Julia Myers

Michelle Nguyen

Kade Nolan

Grant Ocana

Nyanhial Pal

Klayten Palu

John Pearson

Daizy Pineda-Dominguez

Mathew Ramirez

Lilly Reed

Daniel Rendon

Xavier Roundy

Cindy Salas

Monica Samaniego

Aubriana Sanchez-Burke

Norma Schovey

Jackson Sikes

Jerome Silva

Payton Sindelar

Kelly Solis

Jacob Staab

McKenna Thuernagle

Nayla Torres Ruiz

Belle Tran

Jennifer Vargas

Yesenia Vargas

Annika Ward

Madison Webster

Christian Wiegert

Katelyn Wilson

Mali Xayarath


For more information, call or e-mail Traci Skalberg, executive director, Grand Island Public Schools Foundation; 308-385-5525;

© 2024 Grand Island Public Schools Foundation

Powered by Firespring