Skip to main content


Extraordinary Heroes in Education Awards

All Grand Island Public Schools Staff Are Celebrated As Extraordinary Heroes in Education

On Thursday, August 5, 2021 the Grand Island Public Schools Foundation and First National Bank presented the entire staff of Grand Island Public Schools with the Extraordinary Heroes Award at the Heartland Events Center as part of the Grand Island Public Schools Welcome Back Ceremony for staff.

This award was a deviation in practice from the annual Teacher of the Year Awards in recognition of the Extraordinary Year that required tenacious grit and grace from all staff. Nominations were solicited last spring and then mailed to all nominees with a small gift. No individual winners were chosen, rather all were celebrated. In all there were 327 people nominated and 864 nominations. 

The GIPS Foundation and First National Bank also introduced the 2020 Teachers of the Year to the entire staff as these awards were presented in a virtual format last year. The 2020 award winners were:

Elementary:  Mrs. Sandra Meyer, Stolley Park Elementary

Middle School:  Mrs. Kathryn Zeller, Westridge Middle School

High School:  Mr. Brett Forsman, Career Pathways Institute

Specialist/Counselor:  Mrs. Jami Barrientos, Walnut Middle School

Staff Member:  Mrs. Jaime Wattier, Kneale Administration Building

Administrator:  Ms. Amy Richardson, O’Connor Early Learning Center

Each of the 2020 winners were called to the stage and presented a cape signifying their hero status. 


CONTACT: Traci Skalberg, Grand Island Public Schools Foundation, (308) 385-5900, extension 201170;


© 2024 Grand Island Public Schools Foundation

Powered by Firespring