

2024 TEACHER OF THE YEAR STATS

Tonia Schmall Starr Elementary School **Tyler Madison** Walnut Middle School

Jesse LaBrie Academies of Grand Island Senior High

Michelle Thorne Specialist from Wasmer Elementary School

Michelle Enck Staff from Career Pathways Institute

Nathaniel Balcom Administrator from Newell Elementary School

Nominees must be current teachers, principals, administrators, specialists, counselors, or support staff members (secretaries, custodians, para-educators, food service etc.) in the Grand Island Public Schools. Six awards will be made each year. The program is sponsored by First National Bank.



442

Teachers, Staff and Administrators Nominated

1,608

Nomination Forms Submitted

442

Grand Island Public Schools
Staff Recognized

Awards Annually

Since 2003:

115

Grand Island Public Schools
Staff Awarded

20

Years Partnering with First National Bank







For the 20th consecutive year, the Foundation has partnered with our friends at First National Bank. As the corporate sponsor of this program, First National Bank is a great supporter of education in Grand Island and all that you do to ensure student success.

2024

Tonia Schmall Starr Elementary

Tyler Madison

Walnut Middle

Jesse LaBrie

Senior High

Michelle Thorne

Specialist, Wasmer Elementary

Michelle Enck

Staff, Career Pathways Institute

Nathaniel Balcom

Administrator, Newell

Amy Anderson

Howard Elementary

Marla Rischling

All Middle Schools

Jessica Whitmire

Senior High

Kristin Schultz

Specialist, Lincoln Elementary

Angel Rojas-Acevedo

Staff, West Lawn Elementary

Caitlin Jensen

Administrator, Engleman

2022

Asia Thoene

Newell Elementary

Andrew Schneider

Barr Middle

Christine Kier

Senior High

Jessica Schroeder Specialist, Stolley Park

Virgie Wheeler

Staff, Lincoln Elementary

Opal Bentley

Administrator, Knickrehm

All teachers, staff and administrators

Sandra Meyer

Stolley Park Elementary

Kathryn Zeller

Westridge Middle

Brett Forsman

Careers Pathways

Jami Barrientos Specialist, Walnut Middle

Jaime Wattier

Staff, Kneale Administration

Amy Richards

Administrator, ELC

2019

Jason Weseman

Howard Elementary

Jessa Yager Barr Middle

Tracy Jakubowski Senior High

Tammy Nance

Specialist, Starr Elementary

Jodi Fegley

Staff, Engleman Elementary

Lee Wolfe

Administrator, Shoemaker

Bianca Ayala

Howard Flementary

Lori Coble

Walnut Middle

Jeff Vyhlidal Senior High

Angie Runquist

Specialist, Skills Academy

Pat Tatro

Staff, Wasmer Elementary

Selena Wardvn

Administrator, Walnut Middle

2017

Rebecca Waind

Stolley Park Elementary

Ellie Petersen

Westridge Middle

Laura McQuinn Senior High

Patti Bennett

Specialist, Senior High

Jasmine Rios-Alvarado

Staff, Howard Elementary

Jeanna Randall

Administrator, Jefferson

Dennis Korgel

Gates Elementary

Ashley Hilger

Westridae Middle

Jeff Tomlin Senior High

Kim McCain

Specialist, Engleman

Sheri Ingebretsen

Staff, Westridge Middle

Andrew Rinaldi,

Administrator Newell

Kevin Leiss, Skill

Academy Dodge Elementary

Zachary Hawkins

Westridge Middle

Laurie Clark

Success Academy

Camie See

Specialist, Knickrehm and Wasmer Elementary

Marta Charlton

Staff, Lincoln Elementary

Wayne Stelk

Human Resources Director, Kneale

2014

Deb Glover

Howard Elementary

Chuck DeWitt

Walnut Middle

Paula Poppe

Senior High

Penny Brown Specialist, Gates Elementary

Doug Henry

Staff, Senior High

Betty Desaire

Administrator, Wasmer

Christi Rademacher

Newell Elementary

Kay Lyons

Walnut Middle

Judy Lorenzen

Senior High

Amy Hanna Specialist, Howard/Jefferson

Elementary Andrew Cunningham

Staff, Engleman Elementary

Renee Hunt Administrator, Skills Academy

2012

April Patterson

Jefferson Elementary

Benjamin Hanson Westridge Middle

Joe Wells

Senior High

Tara Retzlaff Specialist, CNSSP

Ray Chaves

Staff, Walnut Middle

Doug Jensen

Kelly Usrey Engleman Elementary

Administrator, Senior High

Katy Kurz

Barr Middle

Karen Kropp Senior High

Kirk Ramsey

Specialist, Barr Middle

Birdie Lopez

Staff, Dodge Elementary

Cindy Wells

Administrator Senior High

Ryan Hansen

Dodge Elementary

Karen Hastings Westridge Middle

Cheri Preister

Senior High

Kris McMullen Specialist, Senior High

Paul Galles

Staff, Jefferson Elementary Maureen Oman

Administrator, Engelman 2009

Joan Brown

Engleman Elementary Jerome Dubas

Walnut Middle **Doug Whitman**

Senior High

Jan Tell

Specialist, Dodge Elementary Robert Briseno

Staff, Walnut Middle **Brad Wolfe**

Administrator Newell

2008 Janet Vavricek

Jefferson Elementary

Rhonda Riha Walnut Middle

Michella Honas

Senior High

Larry Uhing Specialist, Senior High

Nubia Herreno Staff, Wasmer Elementary

Sue Burch

Administrator, Kneale 2007

Colette Sorensen

Shoemaker Elementary Kelley Ward Barr Middle

Sara Collinson

Senior High

Sherry Jones Specialist, Engelman/Starr

Elementary

Laurel Cohn Staff, Barr Middle

Kerri Nazarenus Administrator, Kneale Admin

2006

Diane Miller

Dodge Elementary

Jackie Bigley Barr Middle

Vic Nelson

Senior High

Marcella Bogan Specialist, TLC Indra House

Staff, Howard Elementary

Marlene Pietzyk

2005

Patty Brown Wasmer Elementary

Traci Rezac Walnut Middle

Joe Stecher Senior High

Sherry Nott

Specialist, Senior High

2004 Jim Kordik

Senior High

Dr. Stanley Urwiller

Retired Teacher of the Year

Larry Maupin

Senior High

Orv Qualsett Retired Teacher of the Year