

2023 TEACHER OF THE YEAR STATS

Amy Anderson Howard Elementary School
Marla Rischling All Middle Schools
Jessica Whitmire Academies of Grand Island Senior High
Kristin Schultz Specialist from Lincoln Elementary
Angel Rojas-Acevedo Staff from West Lawn Elementary School
Caitlin Jensen Administrator from Engleman Elementary

Nominees must be current teachers, principals, administrators, specialists, counselors, or support staff members (secretaries, custodians, para-educators, food service etc.) in the Grand Island Public Schools. Six awards will be made each year. The program is sponsored by First National Bank.



396	1,442	396
Teachers, Staff and Administrators Nominated	Nomination Forms Submitted	Grand Island Public Schools Staff Recognized
	Since 2003:	
6	109	19

Grand Island Public Schools

Staff Awarded

Years Partnering with First National Bank



Awards Annually

GRAND ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS FOUNDATION

Kari Hooker-Leep, Executive Director • 308-385-5525 • khookerleep@gips.org • gipsfoundation.org



2023

Amy Anderson Howard Elementary

Marla Rischling All Middle Schools

Jessica Whitmire Senior High

Kristin Schultz Specialist, Lincoln Elementary

Angel Rojas-Acevedo Staff, West Lawn Elementary

Caitlin Jensen Administrator, Engleman

2022

Asia Thoene Newell Elementary

Andrew Schneider Barr Middle

Christine Kier Senior High

Jessica Schroeder Specialist, Stolley Park Elementary

Virgie Wheeler Staff, Lincoln Elementary

Opal Bentley Administrator, Knickrehm Elementary

2021

All teachers, staff and administrators

2020

Sandra Meyer Stolley Park Elementary

Kathryn Zeller Westridge Middle

Brett Forsman Careers Pathways Adams Street

Jami Barrientos Specialist, Walnut Middle

Jaime Wattier Staff, Kneale Administration

Amy Richards Administrator, Early Learning Center

2019

Jason Weseman Howard Elementary

Jessa Yager Barr Middle

Tracy Jakubowski Senior High

Tammy Nance Specialist, Starr Elementary



Jodi Fegley Staff, Engleman Elementary

Lee Wolfe Administrator, Shoemaker Elementary

2018 Bianca Ayala Howard Elementary Lori Coble

Walnut Middle

Senior High Angie Runquist Specialist, Skills Academy at Success

Pat Tatro Staff, Wasmer Elementary

Selena Wardyn Administrator, Walnut Middle 2017

Rebecca Waind Stolley Park Elementary

Ellie Petersen Westridge Middle

Laura McQuinn Senior High

Patti Bennett Specialist, Senior High

Jasmine Rios-Alvarado Staff, Howard Elementary

Jeanna Randall Administrator, Jefferson Elementary

2016 Dennis Korgel

Gates Elementary
Ashley Hilger
Westridge Middle
Jeff Tomlin

Senior High Kim McCain

Specialist, Engleman Elementary

Sheri Ingebretsen Staff, Westridge Middle

Andrew Rinaldi, Administrator, Newell Elementary 2015

Kevin Leiss, Skill Academy Dodge Elementary

Zachary Hawkins Westridge Middle

Laurie Clark Success Academy **Camie See** Specialist, Knickrehm and Wasmer Elementary

(1) fmbo

Marta Charlton Staff, Lincoln Elementary

Wayne Stelk Human Resources Director, Kneale

2014

Deb Glover Howard Elementary

Chuck DeWitt Walnut Middle

Paula Poppe Senior High

Penny Brown Specialist, Gates Elementary

Doug Henry Staff, Senior High

Betty Desaire Administrator, Wasmer Elementary 2013

Christi Rademacher Newell Elementary

Kay Lyons Walnut Middle

Judy Lorenzen Senior High

Amy Hanna Specialist, Howard/Jefferson Elementary

Andrew Cunningham Staff, Engleman Elementary

Renee Hunt Administrator, Skills Academy 2012

April Patterson Jefferson Elementary

Benjamin Hanson Westridge Middle

Joe Wells Senior High

Tara Retzlaff Specialist, CNSSP

Ray Chaves Staff, Walnut Middle

Doug Jensen Administrator, Senior High

Kelly Usrey Engleman Elementary Katy Kurz Barr Middle Karen Kropp Senior High

Kirk Ramsey Specialist, Barr Middle

For the 19th consecutive year, the Foundation has partnered with

our friends at First National Bank. As the corporate sponsor of this

Sara Collinson

Sherry Jones

Specialist,Engelman/Starr

Senior High

Elementary

istration

2006

Laurel Cohn

Diane Miller

Jackie Bigley

Barr Middle

Vic Nelson

Senior High

2005

Marcella Bogan

Marlene Pietzyk

Wasmer Elementary

Patty Brown

Traci Rezac

Walnut Middle

Joe Stecher

Sherry Nott

Jim Kordik

Senior High

Larry Maupin

Orv Qualsett

Senior High

2004

2003

Specialist, Senior High

Dr. Stanley Urwiller

Retired Teacher of the Year

Retired Teacher of the Year

Senior Hiah

Specialist, TLC Indra House

Staff, Howard Elementary

Dodge Elementary

Staff, Barr Middle

Kerri Nazarenus Administrator, Kneale Admin-

program, First National Bank is a great supporter of education in Grand Island and all that you do to ensure student success.

Birdie Lopez Staff, Dodge Elementary

Cindy Wells Administrator Senior High 2010

Ryan Hansen Dodge Elementary

Karen Hastings Westridge Middle

Cheri Preister Senior High

Kris McMullen Specialist, Senior High

Paul Galles Staff, Jefferson Elementary

Maureen Oman Administrator, Engelman Elementary

2009 Joan Brown

Engleman Elementary Jerome Dubas

Walnut Middle Doug Whitman

Senior High Jan Tell

Specialist, Dodge Elementary Robert Briseno

Staff, Walnut Middle Brad Wolfe

Administrator, Newell Elementary 2008

Janet Vavricek Jefferson Elementary

Rhonda Riha Walnut Middle

Michella Honas Senior High

Larry Uhing Specialist, Senior High

Nubia Herreno Staff, Wasmer Elementary

Sue Burch Administrator, Kneale

Colette Sorensen Shoemaker Elementary

Kelley Ward Barr Middle

GRAND ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS FOUNDATION

Kari Hooker-Leep, Executive Director • 308-385-5525 • khookerleep@gips.org • gipsfoundation.org