

2022 TEACHER OF THE YEAR STATS

Asia Thoene Newell Elementary School
Andrew Schneider Barr Middle School
Christine Kier Academies of Grand Island Senior High
Jessica Schroeder Specialist from Stolley Park Elementary
Virgie Wheeler Staff from Lincoln Elementary School
Opal Bentley Administrator from Knickrehm Elementary

Nominees must be current teachers, principals, administrators, specialists, counselors, or support staff members (secretaries, custodians, para-educators, food service etc.) in the Grand Island Public Schools. Six awards will be made each year. The program is sponsored by First National Bank.



367	1,155	367
Teachers, Staff and Administrators Nominated	Nomination Forms Submitted	Grand Island Public Schools Staff Recognized
	Since 2003:	
6	103	18

Awards Annually

Grand Island Public Schools Staff Awarded Years Partnering with First National Bank



GRAND ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS FOUNDATION

Kari Hooker-Leep, Executive Director • 308-385-5525 • khookerleep@gips.org • gipsfoundation.org

Teacher the of Year GIPSFOUNDATION

2022

Asia Thoene, Newell Elementary Andrew Schneider, Barr Middle Christine Kier, Senior High Jessica Schroeder, Specialist from Stolley Park Elementary Virgie Wheeler, Staff from Lincoln Elementary Opal Bentley, Administrator from Knickrehm Elementary

All teachers, staff and administrators

2020

2021

Sandra Meyer, Stolley Park Elementary Kathryn Zeller, Westridge Middle Brett Forsman, Careers Pathways Adams Street Jami Barrientos, Specialist from Walnut Middle Jaime Wattier, Staff from Kneale Administration Amy Richards, Administrator from Early Learning Center

2019

Jason Weseman, Howard Elementary Jessa Yager, Barr Middle Tracy Jakubowski, Senior High Tammy Nance, Specialist from Starr Elementary Jodi Fegley, Staff from Engleman Elementary Lee Wolfe, Administrator from Shoemaker Elementary

2018

Bianca Ayala, Howard Elementary Lori Coble, Walnut Middle Jeff Vyhlidal, Senior High Angie Runquist, Specialist from Skills Academy at Success Pat Tatro, Staff from Wasmer Elementary Selena Wardyn, Administrator from Walnut Middle

2017

Rebecca Waind, Stolley Park Elementary Ellie Petersen, Westridge Middle Laura McQuinn, Senior High Patti Bennett, Specialist from Senior High Jasmine Rios-Alvarado, Staff from Howard Elementary Jeanna Randall, Administrator from Jefferson Elementary

2016

Dennis Korgel, Gates Elementary Ashley Hilger, Westridge Middle Jeff Tomlin, Senior High Kim McCain, Specialist from Engleman Elementary Sheri Ingebretsen, Staff from Westridge Middle Andrew Rinaldi, Administrator from Newell Elementary

2015

Kevin Leiss, Skills Academy Dodge Elementary Zachary Hawkins, Westridge Middle Laurie Clark, Success Academy Camie See, Specialist from Knickrehm and Wasmer Elementary Marta Charlton, Staff from Lincoln Elementary Wayne Stelk, Human Resources Director, Kneale Administration

2014

Deb Glover, Howard Elementary Chuck DeWitt, Walnut Middle Paula Poppe, Senior High Penny Brown, Specialist from Gates Elementary Doug Henry, Staff from Senior High Betty Desaire, Administrator from Wasmer Elementary

2013

Christi Rademacher, Newell Elementary Kay Lyons, Walnut Middle Judy Lorenzen, Senior High Amy Hanna, Specialist from Howard/Jefferson Elementary Andrew Cunningham, Staff from Engleman Elementary Renee Hunt, Administrator from Skills Academy

2012

April Patterson, Jefferson Elementary Benjamin Hanson, Westridge Middle Joe Wells, Senior High Tara Retzlaff, Specialist from CNSSP Ray Chaves, Staff from Walnut Middle Doug Jensen, Administrator from Senior High

2011

Kelly Usrey, Engleman Elementary Katy Kurz, Barr Middle Karen Kropp, Senior High Kirk Ramsey, Specialist from Barr Middle Birdie Lopez, Staff from Dodge Elementary Cindy Wells, Administrator Senior High

2010

Ryan Hansen, Dodge Elementary Karen Hastings, Westridge Middle Cheri Preister, Senior High Kris McMullen, Specialist from Senior High Paul Galles, Staff from Jefferson Elementary Maureen Oman, Administrator from Engelman Elementary

2009

Joan Brown, Engleman Elementary Jerome Dubas, Walnut Middle Doug Whitman, Senior High Jan Tell, Specialist from Dodge Elementary Robert Briseno, Staff from Walnut Middle Brad Wolfe, Administrator from Newell Elementary

2008

Janet Vavricek, Jefferson Elementary Rhonda Riha, Walnut Middle Michella Honas, Senior High Larry Uhing, Specialist from Senior High Nubia Herreno, Staff from Wasmer Elementary Sue Burch, Administrator from Kneale Administration

2007

Colette Sorensen, Shoemaker Elementary Kelley Ward, Barr Middle Sara Collinson, Senior High Sherry Jones, Specialist from Engelman/Starr Elementary Laurel Cohn, Staff from Barr Middle Kerri Nazarenus, Administrator from Kneale Administration

2006

Diane Miller, Dodge Elementary Jackie Bigley, Barr Middle Vic Nelson, Senior High Marcella Bogan, Specialist from TLC Indra House Marlene Pietzyk, Staff from Howard Elementary

2005

Patty Brown, Wasmer Elementary Traci Rezac, Walnut Middle Joe Stecher, Senior High Sherry Nott, Specialist from Senior High

2004

Jim Kordik, Senior High Dr. Stanley Urwiller, Retired Teacher of the Year

2003 Larry Maupin, Senior High Orv Qualsett, Retired Teacher of the Year



GRAND ISLAND PUBLIC SCHOOLS FOUNDATION

Kari Hooker-Leep, Executive Director • 308-385-5525 • khookerleep@gips.org • gipsfoundation.org